Hutt City Youth Awards winners

The Label & Litho Hutt City Youth Award for Leadership

To recognise a young person in the Hutt who displays great leadership skills.

Prize: Morning or afternoon tea for four people with the Prime Minister in his Parliament office, and $500 donated by Label & Litho



Giselle Promise Iradukunda of Stokes Valley – for providing exemplary leadership of her peers through advocacy against bullying, assisting special needs students, captaincy of sports and dance groups, and leadership in fundraising.

Georgia Hurley of Wainuiomata – for stepping up as coach and organiser of the Valley Inline Speed Skating Club, providing mentorship to younger skaters, and enabling the Club to continue without a full time coach.

Troy Johnson of Central Lower Hutt – for providing exemplary leadership in sports, including being selected as Captain of the Wellington Under 19 cricket team despite being the youngest member at the age of 16, and for demonstrating and encouraging the highest standards of sportsmanship at all times.

WINNER: Giselle Promise Iradukunda 


The Dowse Art Museum Hutt City Youth Award for The Arts

To recognise a young person in the Hutt has achieved success in the performing, visual, or literary arts.

Prize: $250 voucher from Pete’s Emporium, and a tailored mentorship with The Dowse Art Museum.



Olivia van Woerkom of Waterloo – for her achievements in ballet, including her recent acceptance into the New Zealand School of Dance in 2016 (and her offers for places at three Australian dance schools).

Amelia Walshe of Woburn – for her achievements in musical theatre, including having been selected from 630 girls to play the lead role in ‘Annie’, and being selected from 1800 applicants to perform in ‘The Sound of Music’ both for its New Zealand and Asian tours.

Shae Berney of Epuni – for his achievements in achievements in ballet including being awarded a scholarship to the prestigious Harid Conservatory in Florida.

WINNER: Shae Berney


The Westpac Hutt City Youth Award for  Overcoming Adversity

To recognise a young person in the Hutt who has overcome challenges to achieve success.

Prize: Mentorship experience tailored to the future goals of the winner and $500, both donated by Westpac.



Keegan O’Kane-Jones of Wainuiomata – for having overcome significant social barriers and challenges to represent New Zealand in Boxing at the Youth Commonwealth Games in 2015.

Jared Gillies of Woburn – for overcoming physical disabilities to become a mentor for other students, achieving NCEA Level 3, and developing the ambition to work in Early Childhood Education.

Harmony Daly of Fairfield – for overcoming family challenges and tragedies to become a peer advocate and youth coach, excelling in her education, and providing significant support to her family and peers.

WINNERS: Keegan O’Kane-Jones, Jared Gillies and Harmony Daly


The Hodge Group Hutt City Youth Award for Entrepreneurship

To recognise a young person in the Hutt who displays entrepreneurial spirit and who demonstrates the potential to be a future business leader.

Prize: $500 donated by The Hodge Group, free advertising donated by Hutt Radio, and a Student Membership donated by the Hutt Valley Chamber of Commerce.



Lilia Alexander of Lower Hutt – for her involvement in several start-ups including Tash Gelato, Wellington – LIVE, YouCreate, and her participation in Young Enterprise Scheme, Creative HQ and Start-Up Weekend Wellington.

Nicholas Hyland of Central Lower Hutt – for his work as the CEO of Wellington Now, an app which provides real-time information around Wellington and is on track to have 10,000 downloads by 2018.

Alana Kirby of Maungaraki – for her many entrepreneurial achievements including being named as a national winner in the Business Excellence Awards, being one of 40 business students nation-wide to be selected for a business acceleration programme at Massey University, and her participation in Lightning Lab 2015.

WINNER: Lilia Alexander


The WelTec Hutt City Youth Award for Service to the Community

To recognise a young person who has made a significant contribution to the Hutt through voluntary service.

Prize: $500 donated by WelTec and a tailored mentorship arranged by the Rotary Clubs of the Hutt Valley.



Anton Jewiss of Waiwhetu – for his extensive volunteer work at the Te Omanga Hospice kitchen, including increasing his hours during holidays.

Rosalina Sitagata of Naenae – for her volunteer work as an netball umpire for many primary and intermediate school games, including training junior umpires and fundraising for junior sports teams.

Nat Shackleton of Stokes Valley – for her leadership of the Sacred Heart College fundraising debate which raised a significant sum for Deaf Aotearoa.

WINNER: Rosalina Sitagata


The Natraj School of Dance Hutt City Youth Award for Tolerance and Diversity

To recognise a young person who has made the Hutt a better place to live by embracing diversity and developing connections between people.

Prize: Mentorship with the Natraj School of Dance and $300 donated by the Natraj School of Dance.



Nathaniel Hailemariam of Lower Hutt – for his work representing Ethiopians (including representing New Zealand in U15, U17 and U19 football, and coaching Lower Hutt primary school football teams), and fundraising for supplies and air freight to Ethiopia.

Radhika Ravi of Avalon – for promoting Indian culture through excellence in Indian classical dance, including performing at Parliament, Te Papa, TSB Arena, and other prestigious venues, along with leadership within her own community.

Britnee Tapara  of Central Lower Hutt – for advocacy of young people with physical disabilities and mental health difficulties and anti-bullying campaigns, despite being legally blind.

WINNER: Nathaniel Hailemariam


The GNS Science Hutt City Youth Award for Science and Technology

To recognise a young person in the Hutt who has demonstrated innovation in the STEMM areas: science, maths, engineering, manufacturing, and technology.

Prize: An internship experience at GNS Science, and $500 donated by GNS Science.



Catherine Edmeades of Petone – for her membership of the Wellington High School science enrichment group and award-winning Junior Young Physicists Team.

Nicholas Hyland of Lower Hutt – for creating a free iPhone app, ‘Wellington Now’ which provides real-time updates on traffic, public transport, weather, disasters, and more.

Lilia Alexander of Lower Hutt – for creating a Facebook page, ‘Wellington – LIVE’ to give live updates on the flooding that hit Lower Hutt in May 2015. The page has continued providing updates on life the Wellington region, and currently has 23000 subscribers.

WINNER: Nicholas Hyland


The Ignite Sport Hutt City Youth Award for Service to Sport

To recognise a young person in the Hutt who has made a significant contribution to sport.

Prize: A sporting mentorship arranged by Ignite Sport, and $500 donated by Label & Litho.



Montelle Leafa (Sione), of Wainuiomata – for his voluntary leadership of BGI Sportsbreak in Wainuiomata, and his excellence in Rugby League representation within Lower Hutt, Wellington Region, and New Zealand.

Jack Morrissey, of Stokes Valley – for his leadership of a younger boys’ football team, including coaching, arranging transportation, fundraising, mentorship and support for team members, and creating a video for the team featuring footage of every game.

Diana Oloapu, of Naenae – for her unfailing support of several junior sports teams across a number of codes, including refereeing, mentorship, organising inter-whānau sport competitions, and assisting in any way necessary including refilling water bottles etc.

WINNER: Diana Oloapu

Hutt City Youth Awards winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *